Breath of Life, by Florence + the Machine

40-breathoflife

Released April 26, 2012

4 min, 6 sec

I haven’t seen Snow White and the Huntsman, but I heard it was okay.

Florence + the Machine is, for me, a unique…artist? Collective? Band? I suppose it’s a band, but the band behind Florence is always changing, so they’re like Nine Inch Nails or LCD Soundsystem in that regard, moreso than Florence being a solo artist. Their music is similarly hard to define, with pop elements combined with unusual instrumentation, the harp being a major part of Florence’s sound. We’ll touch on that when Ceremonials comes up in a few weeks. For now, we’ve got…this song.

It’s not bad. It’s quite good, actually. I like it a lot. I love that its feels like a classical score track all the way through, with Florence’s distinctive voice and some weirdly distorted guitars mixed in over the top. I’d imagine that the song represents the film well, but, like I said, I haven’t actually seen the film, so I don’t know.

What this comes down to, then, is that “Breath of Life” works great as a Florence + the Machine song, and is also a promotional song for a movie, which it does admirably.

That’s pretty much it.

Leave a Reply

