All My Friends, by LCD Soundsystem

06-allmyfriends

 

Track 3 only

Released May 28, 2007

3 min, 40 sec

Being a music completionist is hard.

What I’m talking about is attempting to acquire every piece of commercially released music made by a given artist. There are tons of obstacles when in the process of that, the most damning being the dreaded multi-format, multi-tracklist single. I hate those. Absolutely can’t stand them.

The worst is when there’s only one track you want from that single, but you can’t find it individually for some reason. So, you’re stuck buying a CD single that you don’t want, in order to have one track that you want and three tracks you’ve already got from another CD single, or a compilation, or something stupid like that.

iTunes has made this much easier, but it hasn’t completely solved things. You still get format-exclusive tracks, and when they’re on a medium like vinyl (or worse, cassette), what are you going to do? Rip them yourself? Good luck making that sound anything more than a bunch of static screaming.

LCD Soundsystem is one of the bands I tried to do this with, and as a result, I’ve ended up with seven or eight single-track album in my library, because these bastards insisted on some of the dumbest track splitting I’ve ever seen. The amount of random releases with only a few new tracks on them is obnoxious, as if James Murphy sat down and said to himself, “what will piss off my fans the most?”

Besides throwing in the towel on LCD Soundsystem in 2011, of course.

I don’t want to use this post to talk about LCD Soundsystem, however, because that doesn’t feel right. This is a post about the “All My Friends” single, of which I only have one track, exclusive to the iTunes version of the single, and it’s a Joy Division cover. This isn’t the time or place for me to talk about LCD Soundsystem, and trust me, I’ve got quite a lot to say about this band.

Probably a short post, then. Let’s say a few words about this track.

It’s good.

What, you want a few more? Fine.

Of the tracks that use more traditional instrumentation, LCD Soundsystem prefers to have a very “garage-y” sound to their instruments – they sound like they’re being fed through hand-me-down amps, recorded straight to tape, and then pressed with shoddy vinyl machines. The end result is quite a lo-fi sound, which does justice to the source material, considering it’s Joy Division.

I’m not big on Joy Division – not because of any inherent dislike, but just because I never felt compelled by their music. It happens.

Similarly, I’m not compelled by this track. I actually don’t think I’d ever listened to it prior to having to write this post, which says something about the obsessive nature of completionism when it comes to bands.

Mainly, the fact that it’s utterly stupid and a waste of time.

One thought on “All My Friends, by LCD Soundsystem

Leave a Reply

